In Switzerland, an authorization to reside in the country or “autorisation de séjour” is mandatory (Art. 11 Foreign Nationals Act).

Despite the fact that Switzerland is not a member of the EU, the same conditions apply to EU citizens wishing to work on Swiss territory. Switzerland has signed the freedom of movement agreement as part of the bilateral accord with the EU, allowing EU/EFTA citizens to enter, reside and work in the country.

Obtaining a work permit in Switzerland relies on different factors: whether the applicant is a EU-27/EFTA citizen or not, the obtention of a work contract, the current quotas in force and the skills held by the applicant.

For further information, contact us